The 12th International Conference on Advances in Fluid Mechanics took place in Ljubljana, Slovenia, organised by Wessex Institute, represented by Prof Santiago Hernandez, and the University of Maribor, co-chaired by Dr Jure Ravnik, and alongside him Professor Leopold Skerget from the Slovenian Academy of Engineering.

The AFM series of meetings has had a long history since starting in New Orleans in 1996. This was followed by Udine (1998); Montreal (2000); Ghent (2002); Lisboa (2004); Skiathos (2006); the New Forest, home of the Wessex Institute (2008); The Algarve (2010); Split (2012); A Coruña (2014) and Ancona (2016).